Jedi Code

Lightsaber Combat

The Lightsaber is a powerful symbol of discipline as well as a weapon. In the hands of the untrained, the lightsaber is worse than useless against modern blasters and may even injury its user. But in the hands of a Jedi, the lightsaber can become as powerful as any weapon turned against it, deflecting energy bolts back at attackers in a deadly hail and leaving the Jedi wielder untouched. In its highest form, lightsaber combat becomes a subtle and intricate art, but every Jedi begins by learning it first principles.

Ready Stances

In a ready stance, a Jedi is prepared for combat. Lightsaber forms include many ready stances, but the one called "Jedi ready" is the most common: dominant foot back, blade held in parry position on dominant side.

  • Defensive Neutral: In this stance, feet are positioned evenly and the lightsaber is held upward in front of the body. This position presents the maximum amount of blade for deflection of blows or bolts, and maximizes the visual impact of the blade to an opponent as a warning sign. (A Jedi hopes to avoid conflict.)
  • Aggressive Neutral: In this stance, feet are placed evenly with the point of the blade closest to enemy. It presents the minimum visual blade target for attack and tracking

    Body Zones

    Attacks and parries are described in terms of the body zone they concern. "Attack 1" is a blow to the opponent's head, "parry 2" the block of an attack to your right arm or side, and so on. Attack zones are those you see on your opponent, while parry zones are those on your own body. So to go from attack 3 to parry 3, your blade must move from your right side to your left.

  • Zone 1: Head
  • Zone 2: Right arm and side
  • Zone 3: Left arm and side
  • Zone 4: Back
  • Zone 5: Right leg
  • Zone 6: Left leg

    Slashing attacks to the neck are considered zone 2 or 3 attacks.


    Jedi in training run velocities endlessly to increase their key skills and physical stamina. Building on those basics, Jedi can go beyond what is physically possible, allowing the Force to flow through them.

  • Velocities: To develop lightning reflexes and tight control, Jedi face each other in drills called velocities. In the tenth velocity each opponent goes through a series of attacks and parries and is repeated in turn at ever greater speed until one opponent is felled or yields with the declaration, "Solah!"

    A Padawan practices for the trials of passage using dulon: Solo sequences of moves in which the opponents are only envisioned. The patterns of velocities and dulon prepare a Jedi for the unpredictable realm of live combat.

    Ideal Form

    In ideal form attacks are horizontal side swipes and parries are made with the blade upright, pushing the point of the enemy's blade safely away. This rule is reversed for attack and defense of the head, where the attacker slashes down and the defender holds his blade parallel to the ground.

    Live Combat Form

    In live combat, contrasting ideal form, blade attitude for attack is often angled downward to minimize body movement and increase speed. But keeping in mind the ideal distinction between attack and defense improves precision.

    I advanced lightsaber combat, the Force plays a role larger than physical strength alone. Combatants use Force powers for attack and defense, while Sith attempt to break a Jedi's inner spirit.


    Great lightsaber duels have been studied throughout the ages by sword-masters. Kai-kan are dangerous re-enactments of these combats that only well-trained Jedi attempt.

    The Seven Forms

    Seven forms of lightsaber combat have been developed since the foundation of the Jedi Order. Each represents a distinct approach or philosophy, and has its particular strengths. Jedi may specialize in dedication to a particular form or build their own fighting style with elements of multiple forms, although this takes special discipline.

  • Form II favors long, elegant moves and incredible deftness of hand. (Count Dooku)
  • Form III began as high-speed laserblast deflection training. Over the centuries, it has been refined into an expression of nonaggressive Jedi philosophy. It maximizes defensive protection. (Obi-Wan Kenobi)
  • Form IV is known for its power (Anakin Skywalker)
  • Form VII can only be achieved and controlled by high-level masters of multiple forms. This dangerous regimen cuts perilously close to the Sith focus on physical combat ability. (Mace Windu)

    Jedi Moves

  • Jung: 180-degree turn
  • Jung Ma: 360-degree spin to gain power for an attack
  • Sai: Force-assisted jump to evade an attack to the legs
  • Shun: One-handed grip, spinning lightsaber 360 degrees to gain speed for an attack


    Most Padawans build their lightsabers to resemble those of their Masters as a gesture of respect.

    Every hand-built lightsaber expresses th individuality of the builders, although there are few differences in function.

    Blue lightsaber blades are generated via traditional Jedi crystals. They are more maneuverable but slightly less powerful than blades using synthetic Sith crystals.

    The Sith use synthetic lightsaber crystals, which generate a stronger blade when energized by the dark side of the Force. The advantage is slim, but the very appearance of a red blade is a symbol of hateful power.